John Heussenstamm

Video Guitar Lessons, Tabs

Course 1   Course 2   Course 3   Course 4   Course 5   Course 6   Course 7
      Course 8   Course 9   Course 10

Introductory Mode Lessons - 3

Two previous lessons briefly discussed modifying the scale you are in to get a different mode: advantages of learning major scale positions and lydian mode. Now we are going to explore this topic in more detail.

The first video explains how you modify the C major scale to get the C natural minor or C aeolian mode. The second lesson discusses how to get all the modes.

Click on the # below to change the video image

# play time date added description
 1 1:45 07-02-2009 John explains how to modify the C major scale to get the C aeolian mode or C natural minor scale.
 2 2:25 07-03-2009 It is explained how to modify the scale you are in to get six of the seven modes (the scale you are in does not get modified for the ionian mode, so it is skipped).

click on the video image below to play lesson# 1

mode technical description
dorian flatted 3rd, flatted 7th
phrygian flatted 2nd, flatted 3rd, flatted 6th, flatted 7th
lydian sharp 4th
mixolydian flatted 7th
aeolian flatted 3rd, flatted 6th, flatted 7th
locrian flatted 2nd, flatted 3rd, flatted 5th, flatted 6th, flatted 7th

The above table summarizes the 2 lessons. Taking the aeolian mode as an example since it was covered in both lessons, we know that we flat the 3rd, 6th, and 7th notes of the scale to get this mode. In the key of C that would give the notes (C, D, Eb, F, G, Ab, Bb). We also know from the lesson 7 modes in one key 2/2 , that you would play the Eb major scale (Eb, F, G, Ab, Bb, C, D) to get the C aeolian mode. Not surprisingly, the two sets of notes are the same.

So if you wanted you could go through each of the remaining 5 modes in the key of C and prove to yourself that the two descriptions of the modes are the same. Another approach is found here.